The winning teams from the National Final 2017

First Place: University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Second Place: RMIT University, Australia
Third Place: University of Adelaide, Australia
Weir Minerals Judges Prize: Monash University, Malaysia
NCED Design Prize: University of Auckland, New Zealand


Read the 2017 media release

The 2018 National Final will be held at the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney.


Date: Sunday, 20th October 2018

Venue: Powerhouse Museum – Turbine Hall

Address: 500 Harris Street, Ultimo NSW 2007

Time: 10:00am – 3:00pm

Find out more about the Powerhouse Museum

2017 competing Universities

1Central Queensland University, Bundaberg
2Deakin University
3Flinders University
4Griffith University
5Monash University Clayton
6Monash University, Malaysia
7Queensland University of Technology
8RMIT University
19Shandong University, China
10University of Adelaide
11University of Auckland, New Zealand
12University of Canterbury, New Zealand
13University of Melbourne
14University of Newcastle
15University of South Australia
16University of Southern Queensland
17University of Tasmania, Australian Maritime College
18University of Technology Sydney
19University of Wollongong
20UNSW Canberra at ADFA
2017 competition heats

Footage courtesy of UNSW Canberra

History of the National Finals

The format of the National Finals for Warman Design and Build has evolved and expanded over the years.

In the early years the National Final formed part of an engineering conference that was held each year and later, as the competition expanded, the National Final became a standalone event that was held in a different competing University each year (including in Christchurch, NZ).

In 2001 the National Final event was moved to the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney. This allowed for additional components to be built into the agenda for the students competing, including a site tour of the Weir Minerals premises where they got to witness the design and manufacture of Warman® Pumps.

In 2011 the event was moved to the Australian Technology Park, where it was held up until 2016.